Days Gone By - stories from the pastNews - from the past & the presentUncategorized

Did you know that people were persecuted because of their religious beliefs and some were even killed in the founding days of America?

Read about this sad period of American history in the three-book historical series, Tapestry of Love.  Inspired by true events, these three novels take you back to the time when our founding fathers, who were immigrants from many countries, took a precarious journey to America to build their lives in a new country.

Inspired and based on actual historical events and records

All historical events actually took place on the Eastern Shore of Virginia and Maryland in the 17th century. Each book was based on court records and actual people who resided on the Eastern Shore around 1638.  All three books have an appendix at the end that delineates truth from fiction as well as sources of information.

Community of Eastville, Virginia has oldest surviving court records in the United States

The Eastville community is rich in historical information and the early court records kept by the clerks in their homes miraculously have survived to the present day and are the oldest continuous county court records in the United States, dating from 1632. Some of President Washington’s ancestors came from this area. The Tapestry of Love series is based on these court records. Many Alabama ancestors also migrated from the Eastern Shore of Virginia, Maryland, and Delaware.

Hungar’s Church, Northampton County, Virginia (photograph below) is  the 2nd church built ca. 1679 in the area where the first novel Ribbon of Love is set. The first Hungar’s church was established about 1623 and is mentioned frequently in the novel along with the actual names of many people who attended the church as well as those who lived in the area. More about the history of the church can be found at Hungar’s Church

Hungar's Church, Northampton County, Va

The 2nd Hungars church built around 1679 still exists today as can be seen by the photo below from

hungars church

Books make great gifts

The series consists of three novels which are available in Ebooks as well as Paperback:

  1. Ribbon of Love – Volume one
  2. Faith and Courage – Volume two
  3. FreeHearts – Volume three

The novels would make great gifts for history lovers or those who want to learn the true stories about the early days of America. Many of the descendants of the families depicted in the novels eventually settled in Alabama.

Tapestry of love

Note: A new series The Cottinghams continues the Cottingham family line with the first novel in the series,  Discordance


Ribbon of Love was a wonderful love story of Henry and Mary living and struggling to succeed as one of the first families in the colony of Virginia in the 1600s. In addition to the love story, the descriptions of the clothing, home furnishings, personalities, family life, church and community are most intriguing. The exhilarating action and subplots keep the reader in constant anticipation. It is almost impossible to put the book down until completion.

Dr. Don P. Brandon, Retired Professor, Anderson University,
Anderson, Indiana

The Tapestry of Love Series by Donna R. Causey is available online in Paperback at or Barnes and Noble

Bestselling novel RIBBON OF LOVE: 2nd edition – A Novel of Colonial America (Tapestry of Love Book 1) is the story of a first family in colonial America who eventually migrated to Alabama. 

RIBBON OF LOVE: 2nd edition – A Novel of Colonial America (Tapestry of Love Book 1): Book 1 in Tapestry of Love Series

By (author): Donna R Causey
List Price: Price Not Listed
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

(Visited 1,488 times, 1 visits today)

About Donna R Causey

Donna R. Causey, resident of Alabama, was a teacher in the public school system for twenty years. When she retired, Donna found time to focus on her lifetime passion for historical writing. She developed the websites www.alabamapioneers and All her books can be purchased at and Barnes & Noble. She has authored numerous genealogy books. RIBBON OF LOVE: A Novel Of Colonial America (TAPESTRY OF LOVE) is her first novel in the Tapestry of Love about her family where she uses actual characters, facts, dates and places to create a story about life as it might have happened in colonial Virginia. Faith and Courage: Tapestry of Love (Volume 2) is the second book and the third FreeHearts: A Novel of Colonial America (Book 3 in the Tapestry of Love Series) Discordance: The Cottinghams (Volume 1) is the continuation of the story. . For a complete list of books, visit Donna R Causey



  1. Myra N Edwards

    Would like to read these.

    1. Alabama Pioneers

      Click on the link to see the links where you can purchase the novels in both Ebook or paperback versions.

  2. Sherri Pendergrass Principe

    I would like to read this series anyone have it?

  3. Alabama Pioneers

    Here is a link to the first book on amazon –

  4. Susan Bullock

    Mary S Fearn Johnnie Simpson Smith

  5. Jerry Mead

    Nice way to sell books…… No story here…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *