News - from the past & the present

Tombstone Tuesday: These two women must have had a difficult marriage

This poor woman must have had a difficult marriage. . .

Here lies the body of Bridget Applewhaite

Once Bridget Nelson.
After the fatigues of a married life,
Borne by her with incredible patience
For four years and three quarters, bating three weeks,
And after the enjoyment of the glorious freedom
Of an easy and unblemished widowhood

For four years and upwards,
She resolved to run the risk of a second marriage,
But death forbade the banns.


Here lies the Body of Jane Cathew,
Born at St. Colomb, died at St. Ewe;

Children she had five,
Three are dead and two alive;
Those that are dead choosing rather
To die with their mother than live with their father

ALABAMA FOOTPRINTS Confrontation: Lost & Forgotten Stories 

is a collection of lost and forgotten stories that reveals why and how the confrontation between the Native American population and settlers developed into the Creek-Indian War as well as stories of the bravery and heroism of participants from both sides.

Some stores include:

  • Tecumseh Causes Earthquake
  • Terrified Settlers Abandon Farms
  • Survivor Stories From Fort Mims Massacre
  • Hillabee Massacre
  • Threat of Starvation Men Turn To Mutiny
  • Red Eagle After The War

About Donna R Causey

Donna R. Causey, resident of Alabama, was a teacher in the public school system for twenty years. When she retired, Donna found time to focus on her lifetime passion for historical writing. She developed the websites www.alabamapioneers and All her books can be purchased at and Barnes & Noble. She has authored numerous genealogy books. RIBBON OF LOVE: A Novel Of Colonial America (TAPESTRY OF LOVE) is her first novel in the Tapestry of Love about her family where she uses actual characters, facts, dates and places to create a story about life as it might have happened in colonial Virginia. Faith and Courage: Tapestry of Love (Volume 2) is the second book and the third FreeHearts: A Novel of Colonial America (Book 3 in the Tapestry of Love Series) Discordance: The Cottinghams (Volume 1) is the continuation of the story. . For a complete list of books, visit Donna R Causey

Liked it? Take a second to support Alabama Pioneers on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.